Vice-Rector’s Message

BMAU: For an Internationalization Strategy


             In the era of globalization, the international context in which universities are developing, as well as the space in which their actors should evolve, is rapidly expanding and diversifying. In an increasingly international, even ‘global’ world, it is important that teaching and research institutions highlight and promote the international dimension in all their fields of competence. In other words, the international dimension has become essential, even decisive, in the development of higher education and research. It constitutes a benefit in the transfer of knowledge and know-how, contributing considerably to the enrichment of scientific collaboration.
With these changes, BMAU is called upon to formulate a new internationalization strategy, as well as an action plan for the years to come. As part of a quality approach, the results generated by BMAU self-assessment in 2018, and more specifically the results of the external relations service, reveal that many elements of this strategy are already in place, but they require renewed support and attention, followed by an evaluation of their effectiveness and their adequacy to the permanent evolution of the international situation.

           The internationalization of BMAU is not a recent phenomenon but, on the contrary, it is part of a long tradition of ties and exchanges with foreign partner universities. However, this cooperation was often dictated by ad hoc needs and was not developed by a real structuring of international relations. Today, internationalization has become an essential component in the definition of a university strategy. To do this, BMAU promotes an international approach by trying to develop a broad spectrum of activities. It is committed to developing internationally with targeted partnerships by pursuing a policy of dynamic and thoughtful international cooperation, articulated on strengthening strategic alliances. With its partners, it builds structured programs, combining research and training, from the bachelor to the doctor’s degree, by strongly developing the co-supervision of theses and encouraging the mobility of students, teaching, and administrative staff. Through student mobility, BMAU also envisages the dissemination of an ‘international culture’, the acquisition of new skills, and the promotion of interculturality for incoming student mobility (more than 600 international students from more than thirty foreign countries through intercultural festive events organized each year).

          In its strategy, BMAU should conduct an active policy aimed at supporting outgoing mobility, as well as facilitating and simplifying the reception of incoming persons. This internationalization effort mainly concerns bilateral and multilateral international cooperation (research, outgoing mobility of teacher-researchers, young researchers, doctoral students and post-doctoral researchers), associated with the policy of inviting foreign teacher-researchers. To consolidate its international integration, BMAU therefore intends to combine the various types of student, teacher-researcher, and administrative staff mobility in order to develop its international culture and contribute to the creation of a more homogeneous and efficient international higher education space. This international ambition is deployed through framework agreements with more than 47 international universities and membership in five international university cooperation networks, as well as CMEP projects and other student, teacher-researcher, and administrative staff exchanges as part of the ERASMUS + program.

          Even if one of our major objectives is to increase the visibility of BMAU by strengthening partnership and cooperation projects at the international level, partnership at the national level is also more than necessary because it constitutes one of the flagship actions on which it is important to base the future developments of the institution. Traditionally, industry and academia have tended to develop separately and to make distinct and often unrelated contributions to the economy. This has resulted in a shortage of skills in the industrial sector and an underuse of human resources in higher education. It is therefore necessary to establish ties between the two in order to better adapt the qualifications provided by education to the needs of the developing economy. Relations between universities and companies are far from having the importance they deserve despite the significant progress that has been made, particularly through the professionalization of some training courses, the university-business cooperation in research, and the continuing training of company employees. These links would benefit from being reinforced.

        Partnerships with businesses, collectivities, local, regional, and national associations, identified by research collaborations, internships for bachelor and master students, as well as doctoral theses must be strengthened. As a matter of fact, BMAU is developing relationships, and in large numbers, with external actors, but these relationships are not sufficiently exploited by research laboratories. Therefore, by promoting the opening of research laboratories to national and international scientific cooperation, BMAU takes up the challenge and aspires to excellence. The opening of the university to the socio-economic world is hence essential to the achievement of its scientific, educational, and cultural objectives.

 

Read 11659 times
EXTERNAL RELATIONS PRESENTATION Vice-Rector’s Message

Mot du vice recteur

L’UBMA : Pour une Stratégie d’Internationalisation

 

        A l’ère de la mondialisation, le contexte international dans lequel les universités se développent, ainsi que l’espace dans lequel leurs acteurs doivent évoluer, s’élargit et se diversifie rapidement. Dans un monde de plus en plus international, voire ‘global’, il est important que les institutions d’enseignement et de recherche mettent en exergue et valorisent la dimension internationale dans tous leurs domaines de compétence. En d’autres termes, l’échelle internationale est devenue absolument incontournable, voire déterminante dans le développement de la formation et de la recherche universitaires. Elle constitue une plus-value dans le transfert du savoir et du savoir-faire et contribue largement à l’enrichissement des collaborations scientifiques.

        A l’heure de ces changements, l’UBMA est appelée à formuler une nouvelle stratégie d’internationalisation, ainsi qu’un plan d’actions pour les années à venir. Dans le cadre d’une   démarche qualité, les résultats générés par l’auto-évaluation de l’UBMA en 2018, et plus précisément ceux du service des relations extérieures, révèlent que bien des éléments de cette stratégie sont déjà en place mais ils nécessitent un soutien et une attention renouvelés, suivis d’une évaluation de leur efficacité et leur adéquation à l’évolution permanente de la situation internationale.

Il est vrai que l’ouverture internationale de l’UBMA n’est pas un phénomène récent mais s’inscrit au contraire dans une longue tradition de liens et d’échanges avec des partenaires universitaires étrangers. Or, cette coopération était souvent dictée par des besoins ponctuels et n’était pas élaborée par une véritable structuration des relations internationales.Aujourd’hui l’international est devenu donc une composante indispensable dans la définition d’une stratégie universitaire. Pour ce faire, l’UBMA promeut une approche internationale en essayant de développer un large spectre d’activités. Elle s’engage à se développer à l’international avec des partenariats ciblés en menant unepolitique de coopération internationale dynamique et réfléchie, articulée sur le renforcement d’alliances stratégiques. Elle construit avec ses partenaires des programmes structurés, mêlant recherche et formation, de la licence au doctorat, et ce, en développant fortement les cotutelles de thèses et en encourageant la mobilité de ses étudiants, personnels enseignant et administratif. A travers la mobilité étudiante, nous envisageons aussi la diffusion d’une «culture internationale», l’acquisition de nouvelles compétences et la promotion de l’interculturalité pour la mobilité étudiante entrante (plus de 600 étudiants internationaux venant de plus de trente pays étrangers à travers notre soutien aux manifestations festives interculturelles organisées chaque année).

        Dans sa stratégie, l’UBMA doit mener une politique active visant à accompagner la mobilité sortante, et faciliter et simplifier l’accueil des personnes entrantes. Cet effort d’internationalisation porte essentiellement  sur la coopération internationale bilatérale et multilatérale  (recherche, mobilité sortante des enseignants-chercheurs, jeunes chercheurs, doctorants et post-doctorants) associés à la politique d’invitations d’enseignants-chercheurs et chercheurs étrangers. Pour consolider son intégration internationale, l’UBMA se propose donc de conjuguer les divers types de mobilité étudiante, enseignante et administrative afin de faire évoluer sa culture internationale et contribuer à la création d’un espace d’enseignement supérieur international plus homogène et performant. Cette ambition internationale se déploie au travers des accords-cadres avec plus de 47 universités internationales  et l’adhésion en tant que  membre dans  cinq réseaux internationaux de coopération universitaire, ainsi que les projets CMEP et d’autres programmes d’échanges d’étudiants, d’enseignants-chercheurs et de personnels administratifs, dans le cadre du programme ERASMUS+  .

       Certes, l’un de nos objectifs est d’accroitre la visibilité de l’UBMA par le renforcement des projets de partenariat et de coopération au niveau international, mais le partenariat à l’échelle nationale est aussi plus que nécessaire car il constitue l’une des actions phare sur lequel il est important de faire reposer les évolutions à venir de l’établissement.Traditionnellement, l’industrie et l’université ont eu tendance à fonctionner séparément  et souvent sans rapport réciproque. Il en est résulté une pénurie de compétences dans le secteur industriel et une sous-utilisation des ressources humaines dans l’enseignement supérieur. Il est donc nécessaire d’établir une liaison pour mieux adapter les qualifications fournies par l’enseignement aux besoins de l’économie en voie de développement.  Les relations entre les universités et les entreprises sont loin d’avoir l’ampleur qu’elles devraient malgré les efforts déployés dans  la professionnalisation de certaines formations et les initiatives d’une  coopération universités-entreprises en matière de recherche et de formation continue des personnels des entreprises. Ces liens gagneraient à être confortés.

        Les partenariats avec les entreprises, les collectivités et les associations locales, régionales et nationales, identifiés par les collaborations de recherche, par les stages des étudiants de licence et master et par les thèses de doctorat doivent être renforcés. En effet, L’UBMA développe des relations, et en grand nombre, avec les acteurs extérieurs mais qui ne sont pas suffisamment exploitées par les laboratoires de recherche. Donc, en favorisant l’ouverture des laboratoires de recherche vers les coopérations scientifiques nationaleset internationales, l’UBMA relèvele défi et aspire à l’excellence.L’ouverture de l’université sur le monde socio-économique est donc indispensable à la réalisation de l’ensemble de ses objectifs scientifiques, pédagogiques et culturels.

Pr. Hocine MAOUI

 

Lu 17135 fois

        

 
 
Relations Extérieures Présentation Mot du vice recteur